European Road Safety Charter

Excellence in Road Safety Awards



Excellence in Road Safety Awards 2016

Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc presented the Excellence in Road Safety Awards 2016 on the 20 May 2016. This prize recognises commitments to road safety that have a significant impact on saving lives on Europe's roads. The award ceremony brought together non-governmental organisations as well as public and private entities from the European Union and beyond, stakeholders and prominent personalities working for safer roads across Europe

The winners of the Excellence in Road Safety Award this year in two categories are as follows.

In the category school challenge:

  • Colegio Público Miguel de Cervantes from Spain for its success in improving the safety of cycling children in road traffic;
  • Lockerbie Academy from the United Kingdom for its innovative educational programme for raising awareness of road safety.

In the category best practice:

This year, a special prize was dedicated to Jacques Barrot, former Transport Commissioner and ardent supporter of road safety who handed out the first Road Safety Charter Award exactly ten years ago. This special prize was given to the best practice voted for by the public present at the ceremony. This prize was awarded to the Lockerbie Academy from the United Kingdom.

The presentation of each of the awarded projects was followed by a roundtable allowing participants to exchange best practices. Subjects for discussion covered education and awareness-raising among children and young people; protection of vulnerable road users such as pedestrians and cyclists; and innovation in road safety practice. Subsequently, Commissioner Bulc joined Inés Ayala Sender (Member of the European Parliament), Jean Todt (United Nations Secretary-General's Special Envoy), François Bellot (Belgium Federal Minister of Mobility) and Didier de Radiguès (former motorsport champion and sport commentator) on a panel debate focusing on the role that citizens can play in improving road safety.

Friday, 20 May, 2016

Bibliothèque de Solvay Parc Léopold, Belliardstraat 137, 1040 Brussels

Registration and networking
Opening speech of Transport Commissioner Violeta Bulc
Discussion with the award winners of the 2016 School Challenge (Moderated roundtable discussion)
Presentation of the three awardees of Best Practices, Moderated roundtable discussions
Selection of the winner of the 2016 Special Prize
Panel discussion with Transport Commissioner Violeta Bulc, rally driver and former Member of the European Parliament Ari Vatanen, and other personalities
Awards Ceremony and family picture